KEE TAS KEE NOW TRIBAL COUNCIL EDUCATION AUTHORITY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MINUTES ~ August 7 - 2019 Radium Hot Springs Golf Course, Radium BC

PRESENT:	NAME:	TITLE:
COMMITTEE:	Ivan Sawan	Chairperson, Loon River First Nation Chief
	Albert Thunder	Director, Whitefish Lake First Nation Chief
	Billy Joe Laboucan	Director, Lubicon Lake Band Chief
	Jason Laboucan	Director, Lubicon Lake Band Councilor
	Gladys Okemow	Director, Peerless Trout First Nation Chief
	Corrine Alook	Director, Peerless Trout First Nation Councilor
	Isaac Laboucan – Avirom	Director, Woodland Cree First Nation Chief
	John Cardinal	Director, Woodland Cree First Nation Councilor
	Edna Boucher	Director, Woodland Cree First Nation Councilor
	Darren Auger	Director, Whitefish Lake First Nation Councilor
	Richard Laboucan	Director, Whitefish Lake First Nation Councilor
	Tyler Letendre	Director, Loon River First Nation Councilor
	Shayne Letendre	Director, Loon River First Nation Councilor
KTCEA STAFF:	Daphne Mai'Stoina	Superintendent
MOLA VIAII	Pearl Calahasen	Deputy Superintendent
	Yvonne Noskey	Secretary Treasurer
	Dan Smith	Senior Policy Advisor
	Carmen Parent	Structural Readiness Coordinator
	Heather L'Hirondelle	Executive Assistant KTCEA
	Melvina Thunder	Human Resources Assistant
	Kim Carifelle	Finance – Intermediate Accountant
	Audrey Anderson	Curriculum Coordinator
	Ryk Badger	Transportation Manager
	Paul Neethling Clifford Gladue	Technological Specialist Food Services Coordinator
	Theresa Brown	Director of Student Services
	Wendy Calahasen –until noon	Early Learning Coordinator
	Gwena Cunningham – until noon	Career Counselling Specialist
	Arlyene Eldridge – until noon	Little Buffalo School Principal
	Yvette John Jacques – until noon	Kateri School Principal
	Patsy B – until noon	Cadotte Lake School Principal
	Mabel Noskiye – until noon	Clarence Jaycox School Principal
	Jason Big Charles	Outdoor Education Specialist
	Jackie Sanders – until noon	Atikameg School Principal
	Connie Molcak – until noon	Peerless Lake School Principal
	Yvonne Noskey	Secretary Treasurer
	Gord Atkinson	Director of Capital Services
	Deen Flett	Sports Coordinator
OTHERS:	Ivan Auger	Elder – Whitefish Lake First Nation
	Pearl Auger	Elder – Whitefish Lake First Nation
	Richard Cardinal	Elder – Woodland Cree First Nation
ABSENT/REGRETS:	Gilbert Okemow – Absent	Vice Chairperson, Peerless-Trout First Nation Councilor
	Timothy Sawan - Absent	Director, Lubicon Lake Band Councilor

Topic	Discussion	
Call to Order	At 2:25 pm by Chair Ivan Sawan	
Chair	Al Rollins	
Agenda	 Articles of Incorporation requires the Board Members to hold Annual General Meeting Motion to open the meeting Motion to appoint the Auditor for KTCEA Motion to accept the Annual General Meeting Minutes for August 15, 2018 Motion to have the KTC Chief Executive Officer to execute the KTC Sub-Agreement Motion to move the Regular Board Meetings to the first Thursday of every month. 	
Minutes	Opening of the AGM for August 7, 2019 Motion # 01-08-07-2019	
	Moved by: Chief Ivan Sawan to open the Annual General Meeting Seconded by: John Cardinal. All in Favor. Carried.	
	Minutes of August 15, 2018 read by Al Rollins	
	Motion # 02-08-07-2019	
	Moved by: Chief Albert Thunder to accept the Minutes as presented with no omissions or deletions. Seconded by: Chief Ivan Sawan. All in Favor. Carried.	
Auditor	Appointment of Auditor for KTCEA	
	<u>Motion # 03-08-07-2019</u>	
	Moved by: Chief Albert Thunder to appoint Jon Garcia of MNP as Auditor for KTCEA Seconded by: Chief Gladys Okemow. All in Favor. Carried.	
Business Arising	Al Rollins mentioned extending the terms for Chair and Vice Chair as suggested by the Board; however, in order for this to occur the Bylaws would need to be changed.	
	The Board decided not to change the Bylaws and must nominate a Chair and Vice Chair for the year, commencing August 7, 2019 to satisfy Section 11 of the Bylaws.	
Election	Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is an annual requirement.	
	Al Rollins opened the floor for nominations for the KTCEA Chair position:	
	Chief Albert Thunder nominated Chief Ivan Sawan. Seconded by Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom. Accepted by Chief Ivan Sawan.	
	 Nominations called three times. Al Rollins declared Chief Ivan Sawan the Chairperson of the KTCEA. 	

	T. C.
	 Al Rollins opened the floor for nominations for the KTCEA Vice Chairperson position: Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom nominated Darren Auger. Seconded by Chief Billy Joe Laboucan. Accepted by Darren Auger. Nominations called three times. Al Rollins declared Darren Auger the Vice Chairperson of the KTCEA.
KTC / KTCEA Sub- Agreements	Al Rollins requested a motion required to authorize Chief Ivan Sawan to sign as representative for KTCEA and Al Rollins for KTC Administration to execute the KTC Education Sub-Agreement on behalf of KTCEA as the appointed body. Motion # 04-08-07-2019
	Moved by: Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom to authorize Chief Ivan Sawan to sign the KTC Education Sub-Agreement on behalf of KTCEA.
	Seconded by: Chief Albert Thunder. All in Favor. Carried.
	Al Rollins requested a motion from KTC Board to authorize the KTC Education Sub-Agreement on behalf of KTC.
	Motion # 05-08-07-2019
	Moved by Jason Laboucan to authorize the KTC CEO to execute the KTC Education Sub-Agreement.
	Seconded by Richard Laboucan. All in Favor. Carried.
Other Business	Chief Billy Joe Laboucan requesting that all entities of KTC schedule all KTC business during the First Week of Every Month beginning September 2019. This is now changed from the Second week of every month. Metion # 06 08 07 2010
	Motion # 06-08-07-2019 Moved by: Jason Laboucan to move all KTCEA meetings to the First Week of Every Month as requested by Chief Bill Joe Laboucan. Seconded by: Chief Gladys Okemow. All in Favor. Carried.
Adjournment	Motion # 07-08-07-2019 Moved by Chief Albert Thunder to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by: John Cardinal. All in Favor. Carried.
Closing Prayer	Chief Billy Joe Laboucan