

KEE TAS KEE NOW TRIBAL COUNCIL EDUCATION AUTHORITY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Thursday, August 13, 2020, 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Doubletree Hotel by Hilton, West Edmonton, AB

PRESENT:	NAME:	TITLE:
COMMITTEE:	 Ivan Sawan Albert Thunder Billy Joe Laboucan Jason Laboucan Gladys Okemow Corrine Alook Gilbert Okemow Isaac Laboucan – Avirom Derek Auger Darren Auger Richard Laboucan Tyler Letendre Shayne Letendre 	Chairperson, Loon River First Nation Chief Director, Whitefish Lake First Nation Chief Director, Lubicon Lake Band Chief Director, Lubicon Lake Band Councilor Director, Peerless Trout First Nation Chief Director, Peerless Trout First Nation Councilor Director, Peerless Trout First Nation Councilor Director, Woodland Cree First Nation Councilor Director, Woodland Cree First Nation Councilor Vice Chair, Whitefish Lake First Nation Councilor Director, Whitefish Lake First Nation Councilor Director, Loon River First Nation Councilor Director, Loon River First Nation Councilor
KTCEA & KTC STAFF:	 Daphne Mai'Stoina Pearl Calahasen Yvonne Noskey Carmen Parent Caitlin Elm Melbourne Disbrowe Heather L'Hirondelle Melvina Thunder Melva White Adam Noskey Gord Atkinson Terrylynn Cook Dan Smith 	Superintendent Deputy Superintendent Director of Finance Strategic Projects Specialist Communications Manager Communications Coordinator Executive Assistant Director of Human Resources Human Resources Manager Intermediate Accountant Director of Capital Services Director of Curriculum & Instruction KTC Administration COO
ABSENT/REGRETS:	 George Merrier – Absent Timothy Sawan – Absent 	Director, Woodland Cree First Nation Councilor Director, Lubicon Lake Band Councilor

Торіс	Discussion At 1:33 pm by Chair Ivan Sawan		
Call to Order:			
Chair:	Ivan Sawan		
Agenda:	 Articles of Incorporation requires the Board Members to hold Annual General Meeting Motion to open the meeting Motion to accept the Agenda Motion to accept the Annual General Meeting Minutes for August 7, 2019 Motion to appoint the Auditor for KTCEA Annual Nominations and Election 		



KEE TAS KEE NOW TRIBAL COUNCIL EDUCATION AUTHORITY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Thursday, August 13, 2020, 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Doubletree Hotel by Hilton, West Edmonton, AB

OUCATION AUTHORIT		
Opening of the AGM:	Opening of the AGM for August 13, 2020	
	Motion # 01-08-13-2020	
	Moved by: Chief Ivan Sawan to open the Annual General Meeting Seconded by: Derek Auger . All in Favor. Carried.	
Approval of the Agenda:	Motion # 02-08-13-2020 Moved by Chief Albert Thunder to accept the Agenda as presented. Seconded by Darren Auger. All in Favor. Carried.	
Reading of the Minutes:	 Minutes of August 7, 2019 read by Yvonne Noskey <u>Motion # 03-08-13-2020</u> 	
	Moved by: Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom to accept the Minutes with the correction/ deletion:	
	Yvonne Noskey is mentioned twice in the attendance list.	
	Seconded by: Chief Albert Thunder. All in Favor. Carried.	
Auditor appointment:	Appointment of Auditor for KTCEA for the 2019-2020 Fiscal Year	
	Motion # 03-08-13-2020	
	Moved by: Darren Auger to appoint Jon Garcia of MNP as Auditor for KTCEA 2019-2020 Fiscal Year Seconded by: Derek Auger. All in Favor. Carried.	
Business Arising:	None	
Election	Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is an annual requirement.	
	• Dan Smith and Yvonne Noskey reviewed the practice to vote using secret ballot to the Board.	
	 Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom recommended the use of the secret ballot process going forward. 	
	Dan Smith opened the floor for nominations for the KTCEA Chair position:	
	 Darren Auger nominated Chief Ivan Sawan for Chairperson. Chief Ivan Sawan accepted the nomination for Chairperson. 	
	 Derek Auger nominated Gilbert Okemow for Chairperson. Gilbert Okemow declined the nomination for Chairperson due to the upcoming elections as PTFN. Chief Albert Thunder recommended those elected officials going into an election should not be nominated; Dan Smith clarified the process for the Board. 	
	Nominations called three times.	
	 Chief Ivan Sawan was declared the KTCEA Chairperson by acclamation. 	



KEE TAS KEE NOW TRIBAL COUNCIL EDUCATION AUTHORITY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Thursday, August 13, 2020, 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Doubletree Hotel by Hilton, West Edmonton, AB

TION AUTHO		
Election continued:	Dan Smith opened the floor for nominations for the KTCEA Vice Chairperson position:	
	Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom nominated Derek Auger.	
	Nominations called three times.	
	 Derek Auger was declared the KTCEA Vice Chairperson by acclamation. 	
Next Meeting:	The Next AGM is tentatively scheduled for August 2021.	
Adjournment	Motion # 07-08-13-2020	
-	Moved by Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom to adjourn the meeting at 2:00 pm	
	Seconded by: Chief Albert Thunder. All in Favor. Carried.	
Closing Prayer	Chief Gladys Okemow	