

KTCEA Special Board Meeting Thursday, November 26, 2021, 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm Meeting Platform: ZOOM (V) & Executive Royal Inn – West Edmonton

Attendees:

KTCEA Board Members:		KTCEA Staff:		
	1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14.	Chief Ivan Sawan, Chair, Loon River First Nation Councilor Tyler Letendre, Loon River First Nation Councilor Shayne Letendre, Loon River First Nation Chief Billy Joe Laboucan, Lubicon Lake Band Councilor Timothy Sawan, Vice Chair, Lubicon Lake Band-V Councilor Jason Laboucan, Lubicon Lake Band Chief Gladys Okemow, Peerless Trout First Nation Councilor Corrine Alook, Peerless Trout First Nation Councilor Judy Sinclair, Peerless Trout First Nation - V Chief Albert Thunder, Whitefish Lake First Nation Councilor Hughie Tallman, Whitefish Lake First Nation Councilor James Nahachick, Whitefish Lake First Nation Chief Isaac Laboucan Avirom, Woodland Cree First Nation Councilor Derek Auger, Woodland Cree First Nation - V	1. 2. 3. 4.	Dr. Daphne Mai'Stoina, Superintendent Pearl Calahasen, Deputy Superintendent Carmen Parent, Strategic Projects Specialist Heather L'Hirondelle, Executive Assistant
	Absent / Regrets:			
	1.	Councilor Frank Whitehead., Woodland Cree First Nation		

KTCEA Special Board Meeting Minutes

1. Meeting Called to Order

3:00 pm Chair, Chief Ivan Sawan

- 2021-11-26 # 1: The Board motioned to open the Special Board Meeting of November 26, 2021.
- Moved by: Councilor Derek Auger. Seconded by: Chief Billy Joe Laboucan. All in favor, motion carried.

The Board provided feedback and discussed the impact of the October 8 motion 2021-10-08 # 4, and its consequences on their communities. Please see complete motion below:

- 2021-10-08 # 4: Motion: Board requires all KTCEA employees be vaccinated (two doses) by January 1, 2022. Staff who are not fully vaccinated are required to have a COVID-19 rapid test every week until January 1, 2022. Staff who refuse to comply with these requirements will be placed on unpaid leave.
- Moved by Chief Gladys Okemow. Seconded by Councilor Frank Whitehead.
- The motion passed with 11 Board members voting in favor: Ivan Sawan, Shayne Letendre, Isaac Laboucan Avirom, Derek Auger, Frank Whitehead, Albert Thunder, James Nahachick, Gladys Okemow, Corrine Alook, Judy Sinclair, Billy Joe Laboucan, and 1 Board member: Jason Laboucan voting against, and 3 Board Members were absent: Hughie Tallman, Tyler Letendre, Timothy Sawan, motion carried.



KTCEA Special Board Meeting Thursday, November 26, 2021, 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm Meeting Platform: ZOOM (V) & Executive Royal Inn – West Edmonton

The Board rescinded the above motion.

- 2021-11-26 # 2: The Board moved to rescind the Motion: 2021-10-08 # 4 of the October 8, 2021 Regular Board meeting.
- Moved by Councilor Jason Laboucan. Seconded by Councilor Derek Auger. Motion carried.
- Councilor Corrine Alook and Chief Gladys Okemow abstained.
- Councilor Frank Whitehead was absent.
- Adjournment:
- 2021-11-26 # 3: Motion to adjourn the meeting of November 26, 2021.
- Moved by Councilor Derek Auger. Seconded by Councilor Hughie Tallman. All in favor, motion carried.

Closing Prayer: Chief Billy Joe Laboucan