

## Attendees:

Board Members:	KTCEA Staff:	
<ol> <li>Chief Ivan Sawan, Chair, Loon River First Nation</li> <li>Councillor Shayne Letendre, Loon River First Nation</li> <li>Councillor Cody Letendre, Loon River First Nation</li> <li>Chief Billy Joe Laboucan, Lubicon Lake Band</li> <li>Councillor Vera Laboucan, Lubicon Lake Band</li> <li>Councillor Timothy Sawan, Lubicon Lake Band (V)</li> <li>Chief Gilbert Okemow, Peerless Trout First Nation</li> <li>Councillor Corrine Alook, Peerless Trout First Nation</li> <li>Councillor Jullianne Noskiye, Peerless Trout First Nation</li> <li>Chief Albert Thunder, Whitefish Lake First Nation</li> <li>Councillor Darren Auger, Whitefish Lake First Nation</li> <li>Chief Issac Laboucan-Avirom, Woodland Cree First Nation</li> <li>Councillor Frank Whitehead, Woodland Cree First Nation</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Daphne Mai'Stoina, Superintendent</li> <li>Pearl Calahasen, Deputy Superintendent</li> <li>Carmen Parent, Strategic Projects Specialist</li> <li>Yvonne Noskey, Secretary/Treasurer, Director of Finance</li> <li>Kimberly Carifelle, Project Coordinator</li> <li>Jay Calahasen, Communications Manager</li> <li>Elijah Ogato, IT Specialist</li> <li>Rosalie Bisaillon, Executive Assistant</li> </ol>	
Absent / Regrets: 1. Councillor Derek Auger, Woodland Cree First Nation	<ul> <li>KTC Leadership, Admin Staff &amp; Other Guests:</li> <li>1. COO Shawna Janvier</li> <li>2. Bryan Laboucan, Lubicon Lake Band</li> </ul>	

# May 4, 2023 Annual General Meeting Agenda & Minutes called to order at 9:24 am

### Agenda for May 4, 2023 KTCEA Annual General Meeting

#### Item #

1. Articles of Incorporation requires the Board Members to hold Annual General Meeting

- **2.** Motion to open the meeting.
- **3.** Motion to accept the Agenda for May 4, 2023.
- 4. Motion to accept the Annual General Meeting Minutes for August 17, 2022.
- 5. Motion to appoint the Auditor for KTCEA
- 6. Elections of Chair and Vice Chair



1. Opening of the AGM:	The Board Members approved all Nation Council members and
	KTCEA staff to be present at the meeting.
2. Motion to Open AGM:	Opening of the AGM for May 4, 2023
	AGM Motion # 01-05-04-2023
	Moved by: Chief Isaac Laboucan-Avirom to open the Annual General Meeting Seconded by: Councillor Gilbert Okemow. All in favor. Motion carried.
3. Approval of the Agenda:	AGM Motion #02-05-04-2023
	Moved by Chief Isaac Laboucan-Avirom, seconded by Chief Gilbert Okemow. All in favor. Motion carried.
4. Review of the Minutes:	Minutes of August 17, 2022 read by: Yvonne Noskey
	AGM Motion # 03-05-04-2023
	Moved by: Chief Ivan Sawan to accept the AGM Minutes of August 17, 2021. Seconded by: Chief Albert Thunder. All in favor. Motion carried.
5. Business Arising from the	Chief Billy Joe Laboucan questions governance structure and what work is being done.
Minutes:	Superintendent Daphne Mai'Stoina will look at who would sit on task force. There is a need to clarity Board Governance. Superintendent contacted 2 organizations and had presented to the Board in February. Superintendent Evaluation came out of that. Superintendent also looked at curriculum and states a need for a different approach to indigenous learning. Suggestion made to have a Director of Education sit on the Board.
6. Auditor appointment:	Appointment of the Auditor for the 2022-2023 Fiscal Year.
	<ul> <li>Katherina Richard of MNP recommended by Yvonne Noskey</li> </ul>
	AGM Motion # 04-05-04-2023
	Moved by: Chief Albert Thunder appoint Katherina Richard of MNP as Auditor for the KTCEA 2022-2023 Fiscal Year.



CATION AUTHOR		
	Seconded by Chief Billy Joe Laboucan. All in favor. Motion carried.	
	Question raised as to why we use MNP every year. Discussion to have 3 auditor presentations for following year to have cost comparison with background experience and briefing notes to compare with present auditor charges.	
7. Election:	Nominations/Elections of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is an annual requirement.	
	<ul> <li>Shawna Janvier opened the floor for nominations for the KTCEA Chair person.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Chief Isaac Laboucan-Avirom nominated Councillor Darren Auger, seconded by Chief Billy Joe Laboucan. Councillor Darren Auger accepted the nomination.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Councillor Corrine Alook nominated Chief Gilbert Okemow, seconded by Councillor Frank Whitehead. Chief Gilbert Okemow accepted the nomination.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>The floor was opened for additional nominations once, twice and three times. No further nominations were made.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Vote was taken by secret ballot, Councillor Darren Auger was declared Chair by a majority of 9-5</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Shawna Janvier opened the floor for nominations for the KTCEA Vice Chair person.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Chief Isaac Laboucan-Avirom nominated Chief Gilbert</li> <li>Okemow, seconded by Councillor Frank Whitehead. Chief</li> <li>Gilbert Okemow accepted the nomination.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Chief Ivan Sawan nominated Councillor Shayne Letendre, seconded by Councillor Cody Letendre. Councillor Shayne Letendre accepted the nomination.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>The floor was opened for additional nominations once, twice and three times. No further nominations were made.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Vote was taken by secret ballot, Chief Gilbert Okemow was declared Vice Chair by a majority of 9-5.</li> </ul>	
8. Oath of Office:	Councillor Darren Auger read the Oath of Office and was sworn in as Chairperson of the KTCEA Board of Directors.	
	Chief Gilbert Okemow read the Oath of Office and was sworn in as Vice Chairperson of the KTCEA Board of Directors.	
	Chief Gilbert Okemow also read the Oath of Office in Cree.	



APION AUTHO	
9. Other:	Chief Albert Thunder states that due to the extra work Chair and Vice Chair should be given extra funds.
	Chief Ivan Sawan agrees stating there are additional calls and texts to Chair and recommends numeration each month, not just honorarium per meeting. Chief Ivan Sawan recommends a monthly stipend of \$1500-\$2000.
	Superintendent will research and check provincial school levels and bring information to the table at the June Board Meeting.
10. Next Meeting:	AGM Motion #05-05-04-2023
	Meeting to be tentatively scheduled during the month of May 2024.
	Moved by Chief Ivan Sawan, seconded by Councillor Cody Letendre. All in favor. Motion carried.
11. Adjournment:	AGM Motion #06-05-04-2023
	Motion to adjourn the meeting, moved by Chief Gilbert Okemow, seconded by Chief Albert Thunder. All in favor. Motion carried.
12. Closing Prayer:	Chief Gilbert Okemow